Thoughtful Thursday – 12 Things to Always Remember

12-things-to-rememberIt’s time for another Thoughtful Thursday. Today I am going to talk about “12 Things to Always Remember.” The quote will also be included. At this time of year as we approach the end of this year and approach a new one, it is appropriate to take stock of our own lives and see where we stand with ourselves and these 12 things.

1. The past cannot be changed. No it can’t be changed, but hopefully we have learned from it and are not always making the same mistakes over and over again. We should hopefully be growing, even if it is only one step at a time. When you look back you will be amazed at how many steps you have actually taken. Remember that “A journey of a thousand miles begins with the first step.”
 
2. Opinions don’t define your reality. Do you really let what others think of you, how you dress or what you say define who you are? I used to do that. In fact, if there wasn’t someone in my life I didn’t even exist because I didn’t KNOW who I was. So it took another person to define my reality. Not so these days, I do know who I am and no other person is needed, nor their opinion. They are welcome to share their opinion if they want to, but I am not required to make it mine because it is just that, their opinion.
 
3. Everyone’s journey is different. How very true this is for each of us. When I was working full-time there was another person that worked where I did that had all of these different signs around there desk like, ” Don’t judge until you’ve walked a mile in my shoes,” “Everyone sins differently,” etc., and she made it her mission to make my life and work as difficult and miserable as she could during working hours. It was like having a giant target on my back on a daily basis, talk about stress. None of us has the right to do that to another person. Each person has their own journey and we should be compassionate and caring, not making it harder for them.
4. Things always get better with time. Yes, they do. Pain eases, time seems to make it easier to forgive for some, memories get sweeter and hopefully circumstances improve and get better or we ourselves get better at life.
5. Judgement’s are a confession of character. It is not our place to judge another. That is up to someone higher than ourselves. However, we still have to make judgement calls. These are a necessary part of life. You certainly don’t want to be with or have your family around the wrong sort of person (drug dealers, pedophiles, etc.) or be watching the wrong kind of shows. It is how, what and who you judge that is the most important thing. It is not your place to judge your neighbor, a sibling or even a co-worker. None of us know all of the facts required for passing Righteous Judgement. Be very careful about judging another and/or gossiping about them.
6. Overthinking will lead to sadness. Now your scratching your head going what? Yes, it’s true, overthinking can lead to a lot of sadness. As we sit and overthink certain things we begin to think things like I’m not smart enough, not pretty enough, not skinny enough, etc. Everyday we are bombarded by messages that we should look a certain way, wear certain clothes, drive certain cars, but why? It’s all hype to sell things. Do we really need these things? Will they make you happy? Apparently not having them and thinking about them is making you sad, so just turn it off and walk away. Find joy in the real world.
7. Happiness is found within. Here is the solution to the sadness problem above. Everyone seems to think if they have the latest gadget, best car, skinny body, etc., they will be happy. All that is going to happen is that they are going to look for something else to make them happy because that didn’t work. The reason it didn’t work is because real happiness comes from within, not from outside things. If you’re not happy on the inside, what makes you think that things or someone is going to make you happy? You need to find your happiness inside you whatever you have to do. Mine took me a long time, but it was worth every step of the journey and learning to love myself was just a part of it. Start today to find your happiness within.
8.Positive thoughts create positive things. Do you believe this? I do! Yesterday my youngest grandson was just constantly bugging his mom while she was trying to do homework. About the time she was totally coming unglued I came out of my room all dressed and cheery and asked him if he would like to help me make chocolate chip cookies. At once he was right there to help. We got out aprons on and started gathering our supplies. He asked why I didn’t have the recipe book out so I told that I knew the recipe by heart because I had make it so many times. We measured and stirred, added more ingredients and of course you can’t forget the chocolate chips, which he had to taste test. There weren’t a lot of chips so we use some others that had caramel in the middle. He tried those to to make sure they were alright as well. Once we were ready to start baking he helped me get the first batch onto the cookie sheet and we started baking. After that he sort of wandered off and played on the tablet. In the meantime his mom got her homework finished and was able to get showered so that they could go to his party they were have for his football team. So from what could have been something very negative, we turned it into a very positive afternoon for all of us and got chocolate chip cookies as well. Positivity is a great motivator for anyone.
 
9. Smiles are contagious. Have you ever smiled at someone and gotten a smile back? Yes, I have too. In fact when we were in Odessa a couple of weeks ago for my little grandson’s football playoff game, we were in McDonald’s having breakfast. We had finished eating and were visiting some of the other parents and boys. There were two elderly gentlemen sitting across from them and they were kind of scowling at the noise the boys were making. It just happened that I was standing right by them and so I turned and smiled at them. You would have thought that I gave them the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. They both smiled back at me and we started chatting. We talked about why we were there, where we were from, grandchildren, etc. It was a delightful experience for them and for me. Take the time each to spread a little cheer and smile, smile, smile. Smile, it improves your face value!
10. Kindness is free. Imagine that, being kind is free. If so, then why aren’t we as a people more kind? Are we so busy “judging” other people by their looks, age, weight, mistakes, appearance, gender, race, sexual preference that we have forgotten how to be kind? It doesn’t matter who you are, who you think you are, we are all God’s children and equal in his sight. Try a little kindness you will be surprised how far you can go when you do. Many years ago when I was in high school I was walking across the campus one day when a young lady who was mentally handicapped stopped me. She said “I remember you, you were nice to me.” She remembered me from junior high as being one of the few people that was kind to her. I had been taught from an early age to be kind to everyone and extra kind to those with disabilities. There is a little song that I taught my grandchildren a while back and it goes like this; “I want to be kind to everyone, for that is right you see, so I say to myself remember this, kindness begins with me.” (LDS Primary Children’s Songbook)
11. You only fail if you quit. Are you a quitter? I used to be on, big time! It was rare that I ever finished a project. In fact, I had a box full of unfinished projects. I’m slower these days, but yes I do finish what I start. The last couple of years have been a huge challenge for me and yes, I’ll admit that I have wanted to throw in the towel more than once. Somehow though I seem to find something deep inside that encourages me to keep pushing forward. I know what that something is, do you? I still have dreams and plans, which somehow I hope to make come true (and no getting married is not one of them at this time…lol). So failure is not an option, nor is quitting, only moving forward at a sure and steady pace. Hopefully you are doing the same.
 
12. What goes around, comes around. What most of us call karma, or as my grandmother would say, “don’t worry, their chicken’s will come home to roost.” In other words, don’t worry about trying to get even with someone, whatever they have done to you it will come back to them 10 fold. It’s just one of those things. think about it next time you choose to exact revenge on someone. Do you want that coming back on you? Personally, I prefer to forgive, forget and try a little kindness. It’s a lot easier on me and I like taking the high road as opposed to wallowing in the mud with the pigs. Unfortunately when you wallow with the pigs the only one that is going to enjoy it is the pig. Try the high road sometime, the view is lovely and so is the air.
It is my hope that these 12 Things to Always Remember along with a little insight have helped you today (an no, you don’t have to type yes), and in the days to come. Perhaps these can be a part of your New Year’s Resolutions as you begin to brighten and lighten your life and your load.
Leave a Reply

