Thoughtful Thursday – Memory Heritage

PenWe have been talking about families and heritage lately. The kids are back in school (if you have kids) and fall is right around the corner. It is time to start making plans for your fall activities. Growing up one of the things that we enjoyed doing was driving up into the canyon to see the leaves changing color and having a picnic lunch. That was always fun. My grandparents always took us to see the ice skating show when it came through town. How I remember the costumes and the romance of it all. I would go home with stars in my eyes. State Fairs, county fairs, museums, the zoo, any activity you do with your family, no matter how big your family is build memories. You may not have photographs of everything but you will have memories. What kind of memories do you want your family to have? Do you want them to have only memories of you yelling and cussing at them or do you want to have fun memories too? If nothing else take them to the park to play. My kids, nieces, nephews and grandkids loved the park. My grandkids still do. Memories last a life time, even when photographs fade. Another thing we did when I was a kid was to go shopping every other Friday night in the city (we lived in a smaller town). It was exciting and I always got dressed up to go. My mom hated the fact that I did. My grandmother and I would always spend time trying on hats together, which I’m sure was trying to others. My grandfather, however, was very patient through it all. These are what I’m talking about, building memories through generations if you can. One year for my son and daughter-in-law’s birthday’s I treated them to a penguin encounter at the aquarium. As I was along for the ride I got to experience it too. What a fantastic experience to have together and a birthday for them to remember. Take the time to build memories together, they don’t have to cost a lot of money, or anything at all. Be creative, but give your family lasting, positive memories that will last for generations to come.

Leave a Reply

